WAITING FOR RELEASE

WAITING FOR RELEASE

By Okiri Christopher Raphael

There is a song in my heart
It is a heart song yet unsung
The world, my release await
But the Song Birds, they sing my song.

There is a love in my heart
It is a sweet love not yet shown
The world, my affection await
But The Muses, this love they’ve known.

There is beauty in my heart
It is a beauty none yet has seen
The world, my display await
But Graces, this beauty have seen.

There is a dance in my heart
It’s a dance I cannot unlearn
The world, my performance wait
But little fairies, this dance learn.

There is a joy in my heart
It is such great joy yet unknown
The world, my expression wait
But in rapture, my joy is known.

ON THE ROAD TO EMMAUS

By Okiri Christopher Raphael

Until at the breaking of bread
It never for once dawn on us
That truth it was that walked with us
Our souls dwelt on the road we tread

On the lonely road to emmaus
When our broken hearts burned
For the doubt that was come on us
Of how can a body be made bread

Light dawned on the way to Emmaus
And we come to the journey’s end
For who walked with us is the Christos.
The Truth is why we never reached the bend.

THE NYMPH OF SPRING

By Okiri Christopher Raphael

I’m a passerby, a lone wayfarer
Passing by Eden, i saw this flower
A beauteous blossom, and i stopped to peep
O’oer the fence of the Angels’ keep

I’ll pluck this flower, to see her color
I’ll hold this flower, to sniff her odor
But ‘midst fawns, faunas, and nary a sprig
Repose this picture-perfect Nymph of Spring

To breathe in her sensual aura, i make haste
Hurrying to suckle of her dripping necter
But i must first paint this beautous spectre.
With shimmering colours from my heart’s’pallette.

WORD OF MOUTH FAME

By Okiri Christopher Raphael

Not by might of arms
Neither by faith nor by sight
Shall The Poet prevail

But by Word of Mouth
Shall The Poet bake his own bread
And build her bridges

By sheer Word of Mouth
Shall The Poet make omellettes
Without breaking eggs.

By mere Word of Mouth
The Poet will move mountains
And wither fig trees

The Muse empowers Poets
And they go about doing good
With mere Word of Mouth

There is no more fame
To the craft of poetry
Than mere Words of Mouth.

WE MUST SET FORTH AT DAWN

By Okiri Christopher Raphael

We must set forth at dawn
But not before the first light is shown.

We must set forth at dawn
But not before the cock had crown.

We must set forth at dawn
But not before the mist is over, blown

We must set forth at dawn
But not before the path is known.

We must set forth at dawn
But not before we’re sure the day is our own.

We must set forth at dawn
But not before the veil of dark is drawn.

We really must set forth at dawn
But not before it is the break of true dawn.

May 8, 2011

A REGENERATION

By Okiri Christopher Raphael

If the dampening cold hand of death
At last smothered this flickering flame,
The troubled wind you must not blame
But God who decides a man’s health.

If an unseen hand plucked the fruit
From this lone tree Two Angels guard,
Let my seed fall upon your ground;
From your core will new life come forth.

If my own world ends tomorrow,
There’ll be nothing to fear or fret
About: love or hate, life or death;
Since where I go, I do not know.

Spare me tears, daughters of the earth,
Be sure to perpetuate my name.
I have lived life and I am game
The player lives on in your heart.

All you jolly-good men of earth,
In heaven’s happy hunting ground,
We’ll meet again to drink a round
To Sun’s failing sight by the hearth.

IF THERE BE THORNS

By Okiri Christopher Raphael

Like a buzzing bumble bee, I come as bard,
Seeking the nectar, oozing from your core.

Let the pricks and thorn be your guard
But mine it is to crave, to love and care.

I’ll plunder your throve and Pot of Gold
For no creed or norm does a villain care.

Yet I’ll be cuddling you like a budding flower
And on you expend much love and care.

BLACK HOLE

By Okiri Christopher Raphael

I have been waiting; waiting all my life
In hope that things, on their own, will turn up.
So much the content of the endless strife
Till I decided to help turn things up.

I took a pick, and I grabbed a spade;
One thought spurred me on to the escapade-
That’s, ‘’I dig my grave, if I dig not deep’’-
And so started I to dig, and digging deep.

How deep I dug myself in, I’m not sure.
Silver linings, gold dusts, a hidden treasure,
I had hope to find as fortune, by the feat
Before I reach the abysmal six feet.

My efforts only gained me a molehill,
Having dug myself into a black hole.

WAITING FOR DAWN

By Okiri Christopher Raphael

Yes! My hands are soiled,
But not with blood or loot;
I fight corruption.

Yes! My heart is crook,
But it is not yet broken;
I still keep the faith.

Yes! My belly aches,
But not with gut indulgence;
I hunger for truth.

Yes! My eyes shed tears,
But these tears could have been blood;
I’ve seen injustice.

Yes! My tongue has failed,
But I have not compromised;
I yet speak the truth.

Yes! I stand alone,
But I have a firm foothold;
I stand for justice.

Yes! It is night,
But a new dawn soon will broke,
I then shall see light.

Yes! There are no stars,
But it’s the night’s darkest hour;
I wait for the dawn.

NEITHER THIS NOR THAT

By Okiri Christopher Raphael

I have seen the God
That is neither this nor that
Of things that exists

I have seen the God
That is neither who nor which
Neither where nor when

I have seen the God
That is neither man nor beast
Neither has nation

I have seen the God
That is neither good nor bad
Neither wise nor bane

I have seen the God
That is neither weak nor strong
Neither great nor small

I have seen the God
That is neither fine nor crude
Neither smart nor dumb

I have seen the God
That is neither bright nor dull
Neither sharp nor blunt

I have seen the God
That is neither light nor dark
Neither black nor white

I have seen the God
That is neither fat nor thin
Neither tall nor short

I have seen the God
That has no gender or race
Nor has religion

I have seen the God
That Man seeks and has not found
The God is I AM.

GOD IS MY NEIGHBOUR

By Okiri Christopher Raphael

Think that orphaned child,
Hungry, waiting at your gate
God is not far off.           

Think that poor widow,
Homeless, at the street corner
God is nearer-by.

In those teary eyes,
Not in outer-space, we’ll find
The God that we seek.

AND MAN MADE GOD…

By Okiri Christopher Raphael

A lot of things are made for one purpose,
Like day time that is made good for working,
And night time too which is made for sleeping
With the object of affection, i suppose

A lot of things are made good, and to be shared
Like summer, spring and winter, with goodwill
On Christmas and Eid with thanksgiving
And love and joy and peace, as God preferred

A lot of things are made by a Good God,
All things bright and beautiful, great and small.
The vulture’s screech and the hyena’s howl;
Things that seem hideous also are for Good.

Some things are actually made wonderful
Like beasts and trees, and distant skies; all things
But Man, whose myths and legends born of thoughts
Made things, even God, grotesque and fearful.

The Block

I write what I like; penning words as they come
And what I do is write between the lines.
This is the reason why I am lonesome;
Nobody wants to read between the lines.

I tread the path, leading to The Inside,
But the traffic of thoughts clogs the entrance:
Shading the light that flows from the outside,
Bathing me in a gloomy ambient trance.

With words, I contend in an endless strife
But all the fuss was ‘Storm In a Tea Cup’
So much the troubles with which life is rife;
Much ado, yet blighted by a hiccup.

The Inspiration

And I like tea too, do not forget that.
Every sip of tea is an inspiration.
The Food of The Gods, is food for thought:
Elixir for those in my profession.

The Bane

This kinda bitch of a writer’s shrewd wife,
Nagging sloth, that would not let me write,
Has been the bane of every pundit’s life.
A companion that makes a man contrite.

Block Head is the name of this writer’s wife.
I married her when I divorced The Muse.
The naggard is my mistress for life.
I’ll live, if I do not soon blow a fuse.

I AM NO MESSIAH

By Okiri Christopher Raphael

I am no messiah,
But I could use water turned wine
To make me heart merry.

I am no messiah,
But I can bear a heavy cross
Only if it is a Solid Gold Crucifix.

I am no messiah,
But I can carry the world on my shoulder
Only for the gain of the whole world.

I am no messiah,
But let men sing my hosanna,
I like to be entertained.

I am no messiah,
But I won’t save me self from Pilate
If I would be proclaimed ‘King of The Jews’.

I am no messiah,
But I can drink of any bitter cup
If, and only if it overflows with Extra Stout.

I am no messiah,
So I’d pass the cup of vinegar.
Give that cup to those who perish.

HEALING

By Okiri Christopher Raphael

onions make us cry
out of pain, or pleasure, we’re wont to cry

ginger make us high
to get off the low-low, we get high

sex gets our groove on
and onion is ginger for sexual healing

Not only the poet lied

By Okiri Christopher Raphael

Not only the poet lied

…preachers lied
…pundits lied
…prophets lied
…The custodians lied

Not only the poet lied

…Papers lied
…TV lied
…Radio lied
…grape vine lied
Internet lied
The media lied

Not only the poet lied

…professors lied
…reporters lied
…doctors lied
…Nurses lied
…Engineers lied
…Lawyers lied
…Actors lied
…The experts lied

Not only the poet lied

…sovereign lied
…governors lied
…senators lied
…chairmen lied
The government lied

Not only the poet lied

The unborn lied
The living lied
The dying lied
The dead lied
All of life lied
 
Not only the poet lied

I lied
you lied
he lied
she lied
they lied
we all lied

we all had lain
on our bed
as we had made our bed

FEAR, FLIGHT, FIGHT

By Okiri Christopher Raphael

Trust what your First Instinct says to you;
Your First Instinct is always right,
It never tells you the wrong thing.

If your First Instinct says to you
FEAR! Then you would do well to tremble;
After all, fear is the beginning of wisdom.

If your First Instinct says to you
FLY! Then beat it and take to your heels;
Run like you gat legs of fly-wheels.

If your First Instinct says to you
FIGHT! Then stand your firm ground,
And draw a battle line in the sand.

I once ignored my First Instinct.
I feared when i should stand and fight.
I fled in the face of challenges that daunts.

Now see what i landed into;
Up to my eyes in deep water loo,
Caught in furious fast-flowing goo.

I’d soon sink down and drown
If i don’t start kicking as soon
As my First Instinct say to me ‘swim’!

FAME

By Okiri Christopher Raphael

Who wants to be a millionaire?
Come on and mount this hot seat;
If your ass don’t get burn-out here,
You will be a millionaire yet.

Who wants to be in the lime-lights?
Go on and climb the stage to fame;
If you don’t get blinded by the lights,
You will be spared the boos and shame.

Who wants to be a bachelor?
Do away with acquired Master’s.
If you’d do yourself a favour,
Do not commit to Eve’s daughters.

Who wants to be a Poet Laureate?
On both ends, must your candle burn;
If you don’t sooner lose the light,
Of Nobel’s fame, you’ll have your turn.

Who wants to be the last virgin…?
keep legs crossed and pants zipped;
Stay focussed and don’t imagine
Giving in to passion when gripped.

SILENCE IS FOOL’S GOLD

By Okiri Christopher Raphael

Silence is nought but Fool’s Gold.
Speech is corruptible silver.
But on truth, we will not lose our hold.

Corruption is a high tower;
The nefarious takes refuge there.
Against this bastion, we wage war.

And when we shall break through,
We will raise one voice
In a cacophonous cry of UHURU.

MENDING HEARTS

By Okiri Christopher Raphael

There is not enough love in the world
To fit in the palm of a man’s hand
There ain’t that much lovers in the world
To count on the fingers of a girl’s hand
Mending a heart is a chore too hard
You will find out when you understand
Neither stitches wrought with needle
Nor thread expertly spurn in a spindle
Can mend a heart in need of mending Only a true heart, never demanding

Leave a Reply

